A-League preview: Victory v Phoenix

Melbourne Victory is aiming to bounce back when it hosts the Wellington Phoenix at AAMI Park on Wednesday.


Victory has suffered three straight losses in the A-League after being edged 1-0 by the Newcastle Jets last time out.

It quickly gets a chance to respond when it returns to AAMI Park to face the Phoenix.

Along with the defeat to the Jets, Victory saw three players – Adama Traore, Storm Roux and Nick Ansell – suffer injuries.

In a boost, Callum McManaman made his return from injury against Newcastle and was a regular threat, including hitting the post in the second half.

Victory midfielder Jake Brimmer created three chances against the Jets. He ranks equal fourth in the A-League for chances created this season with 19, while his 51 crosses also ranks fourth.

Jake Brimmer

Victory heads into its meeting against Wellington with a strong recent home record against the Phoenix, unbeaten in the past six clashes between the teams in Melbourne.

Player in focus

Opta Widget: Kirdar 2021

Last time

A-League 2019/20
Wellington Phoenix 3-0 Melbourne Victory
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Sky Stadium, Wellington

Victory was beaten in Wellington before last season was suspended due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Ulises Davila, Gary Hooper and David Ball scored in Wellington's win.

Opta Widget: Last time

As it stands

Opta Widget: AL table

Head to head

Round 23, 2019/20: Phoenix 3-0 Victory at Sky Stadium
Round 10, 2019/20: Victory 0-0 Phoenix at AAMI Park
Round 5, 2019/20: Victory 1-1 Phoenix at AAMI Park
Elimination Final, 2018/19: Victory 3-1 Phoenix at AAMI Park
Round 19, 2018/19: Phoenix 1-1 Victory at Eden Park

Opta Widget: H2H

Match details

Melbourne Victory v Wellington Phoenix
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Kick-off: 7.05pm AEDT


Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 5.Ryan SHOTTON, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Callum McMANAMAN, 8.Jacob BUTTERFIELD, 9.Rudy GESTEDE, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11. Ben FOLAMI, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 14.Jay BARNETT, 15, Aaron ANDERSON, 16.Brandon LAUTON, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 19.Dylan RYAN, 20.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 22.Jacob BRIMMER, 23.Marco ROJAS, 25.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO, 33.Dalibor MARKOVIC, 35.Zaydan BELLO

**2-4 to be omitted**

 In:  15.Aaron ANDERSON (promoted), 16.Brandon LAUTON (promoted), 23.Marco ROJAS (return from injury), 33.Dalibor MARKOVIC (promoted), 35.Zaydan BELLO (promoted)

Out: 2.Storm ROUX (injured) 3.Adama TRAORE (injured) 4.Nicholas ANSELL (injured)

Unavailable: Nil

Squad goals Kirdar