Preview: Tianjin Teda v Melbourne Victory

History tells us that Victory are most dangerous with their backs against the wall and having had a couple of weeks to freshen up, we can expect a much-improved performance in this match.

Date: Tuesday April 5 Kick-off: 7:30pm local, (9:30pm AEST) Venue: Tianjin Teda Stadium Television: Live and exclusive on Fox Sports 3 Live Match Centre:

Head-to-head Never played in AFC Champions League

How they made it Tianjin Teda: 2010 Chinese Super League Melbourne Victory: 2010 A-League runners-up

History These teams have met a few times prior in friendly matches under the guise of the Lord Mayor's Cup. Under a sister city arrangement, they played in 2007, a match Melbourne won 6-5 on penalties, while in 2009, the match ended 2-1 in Tianjin's favour. Former Melbourne midfielder Nick Ward scored a cracking goal in that match.

Recent form: Tianjin Teda: CSL: Tianjin Teda 1 Shenzhen Ruby 0, Tianjin ACL: Tianjin Teda 2, Gamba Osaka 1, Tianjin ACL: Jeju United 0, Tianjin Teda 1, Jeju

Melbourne Victory: ACL: Melbourne Victory 1, Jeju United 2, Docklands ACL: Gamba Osaka 5, Melbourne Victory 1, Osaka HAL: Gold Coast United 1, Melbourne Victory 0, Skilled Park HAL: Adelaide United 2, Melbourne Victory 1, Hindmarsh Stadium HAL: Melbourne Victory 2, Newcastle Jets 0, Etihad Stadium

Decisions for Mehmet With Danny Allsopp, Matthew Kemp and Marvin Angulo all ruled out in this match, the caretaker coach has a few positions to fill. Billy Celeski (illness) is in some doubt and won't start. Carlos Hernandez and Robbie Kruse will come in, with the latter to come off the bench. Tando Velaphi is set to make his debut between the posts in place of Michael Petkovic.

Behind Enemy Lines Tianjin opened their Chinese Super League season with a 1-0 win over Shenzhen Ruby on the weekend with captain, Marko Zoric, a well-travelled Serbian defender, scoring the winner. The key men in the superb 2-1 win over Gamba Osaka in the last ACL game was Chen Tao, who scored an early goal, while Cao Yang scored a penalty.

Our Hero Carlos Hernandez is back to fitness and is set to ply a major role in this match.

Danger Man Luciano Olgin - The Argentine has been a very useful acquisition for Tianjin scoring six goals in 12 matches last season. The powerful striker is sure to be a handful for the Victory defence.

Why we will win Melbourne's hopes of resurrecting their ACL ambitions rest with a strong performance in this match. A loss would ruin any hope of progression, while a draw would only stay the execution. It will certainly be a major test under the regime of Mehmet Durakovic.

But with attacking players of the quality of Archie Thompson and Carlos Hernandez, you can never write off Victory, who will look to use a bit more width and the pace of Isaka Cernak and Tom Pondeljak to create attacking openings.

Tianjin have performed well in the ACL so far, winning both games, and will offer plenty in both defence and attack. Former China head-coach Arie Haan is a very astute manager and will have done his homework on the Melbourne side.

But history tells us that Victory are most dangerous with their backs against the wall and having had a couple of weeks to freshen up, we can expect a much-improved performance in this match.

Squads Tianjin Teda 1. Zhao Yanming, 2. He Yang, 3. Kwon Jip, 4. Wu Ze, 5. Li Weifeng, 6. Marko Zoric, 7. Li Benjian, 8. Hu Rentian, 9 Obiora Odita, 10. Wang Xinxin, 12. Tian Xu, 13. Bai Yuexuan, 14. Bai Yuefeng, 15. Liao Bochao, 16. Zhang Xiaobin, 17. Lu Zheyu, 18. Zheng Yi, 19. Nie Tao, 20. Mao Biao, 21. Han Yanming, 22. Yu Dabao, 23. Wu Wei'an, 25. Yang Qipeng, 26. Cao Yang, 27. Ma Leilei, 28. Lu Yang, 29. Fan Baiqun, 30. Liu Song, 31. Han Cai, 32. Jia Yudong, 33. Li Lei, 34. Lin Chen, 35. Luciano Olguín, 36. Chen Tao, 37. Mu Yutan, 38. Xu Xiaolong, 39. Zhao Yingjie, 40. Li Yaoyue

Melbourne Victory: 1. Michael Petkovic (GK), 2. Kevin Muscat, 4. Petar Franjic, 5. Surat Sukha, 6. Leigh Broxham, 7. Matthew Kemp, 8. Grant Brebner, 10. Archie Thompson, 11. Marvin Angulo, 12. Roddy Vargas, 13. Diogo Ferreira, 14 Billy Celeski, 15. Tom Pondeljak, 16. Carlos Hernandez, 17. Matthew Foschini, 18. Danny Allsopp, 19. Isaka Cernak, 20. Sebastian Mattei (GK), 21. Robbie Kruse, 23. Adrian Leijer, 24. Luke Pilkington, 25. Luke O'Dea, 26. Nick Ansell, 27. James Jeggo, 30. Tando Velaphi (GK)